Extension Officers

If you're interested in discussing nutrient management planning please contact one of the following district extension officers:

Kate Armstrong
Extension Officer - Mossman

0488 004829 

kate@mossag.com.au

Based in Mossman Agricultural Services

Kate has been working as an extension officer since 2017.

 

Email
Joel Tierney
Sustainability Officer - Cairns

0472 869659

joel_tierney@canegrowers.com.au

Based in CANEGROWERS Cairns

Joel has been working as an extension officer since 2017.

 

Email
Jarrod Sartor
Extension Officer - Ingham

07 4776 1808

jsartor@hcpsl.com.au

Based in HCPSL

Jarrod has been working as an extension officer since 2015. 

Email
Leanne Carr
Extension Officer - Ingham

0490 077 176

lcarr@hcpsl.com.au

Based in HCPSL

Leanne grew up on a cane farm in the Herbert district and after gaining a Bachelor of Agricultural Science specialising in agronomy from the University of Queensland in 1999. She previously farmed passionfruit for 12 years and she has worked as an extension officer at HCPSL for several years.  

 

Email
Megan Zahmel
Extension Officer - Ingham

0447 317102

mzahmel@hcpsl.com.au

Based in HCPSL

Since joining HCPSL in 2016 Megan has been working on Project Catalyst, a program that supports grower trials of innovative practices to improve water quality. 

 

 

 

Email
Alex Lindsay
Extension Officer - Tully

0427 231 971

alex.lindsay@wtsip.org.au

Based in Canegrowers Tully.

Alex studied soil science and forestry at university in Canberra. He has worked in a range of industries and environments, mainly in northern Australia. He is an accredited Fertcare advisor and has been working as an extension officer for several years.

Email
Peter Becke
Extension Officer - Innisfail

0436 678 800

peter_becke@canegrowers.com.au

Based in Canegrowers Innisfail.

Peter Becke grew up on a sugarcane farm and has a degree in Applied Science (Plants Major). He has worked as an agronomist and an extension officer for several years.

 

Email
Bob Stewart
Private Consultant

0418 733147

bobsagricultural@bigpond.com

Previously based in CANEGROWERS Innisfail, Bob has extensive experience in extension and nutrient management planning and is currently operating as a private consultant.

EmailCane Growers